Christiansen Takes 26th Nebraska Senior Amateur in Playoff

Christiansen Takes 26th Nebraska Senior Amateur in Playoff

Final Round Conducted Friday at Wayne Country Club

WAYNE (June 21, 2024) - Randy Christiansen of Yutan came up clutch in a playoff to win the 26th Nebraska Senior Amateur Championship at Wayne Country Club on Friday.

Christiansen entered the Final Round with the lead and held it throughout the day, until Omaha's Patrick Duffy tied him with one hole to play. Both players finished at 142 (-2), and Christiansen won the ensuing playoff to win his first NebGolf title.

Duffy, starting two strokes behind, made the first strike of the day, birdieing the first two holes to momentarily tie the lead. Christiansen matched his birdie on the par-5 second hole though to regain his lead, and added another birdie on No. 4 to keep separation.

The race tightened though, as Duffy birdied the par-5 ninth, just before a brief weather delay. After play resumed, Christiansen hit his tee shot out-of-bounds on the difficult 11th hole, leading to a double-bogey. Duffy made par and they were tied once again.

A bogey on No. 14 dropped Duffy behind, but both players birdied the par-5 16th hole, and Christiansen flew the par-3 17th hole and made another bogey. They went to the 18th hole tied at 2-under.

Christiansen hit his approach shot into the treacherous green to a perfect spot, for an uphill birdie putt. Duffy missed the green left and short-sided himself. He was able to get up-and-down though, and Christiansen two-putted for par to send them to a playoff. It was a round of 74 (+2) for Christiansen, and Duffy posted the low round of the day by two strokes, a 72 (E).

Both players missed the 18th green in the playoff and faced difficult chips, but Christiansen had perfect touch and converted his par to secure the win. Christiansen, who went back to school and currently competes for Bellevue University, was competing in the Nebraska Senior Amateur for the first time. Duffy, a three-time Nebraska Mid-Amateur Champion, finished runner-up in just his second appearance.

Fremont's John Sajevic, a four-time champion, finished third at 145 (+1) after a 76 (+4). Kevin Sullivan of Omaha shot a 74 (+2) to jump into fourth at 146 (+2). Matt Haynes of Bellevue and Brian Csipkes of Gretna, the 2022 Champion, tied for fifth at 147 (+3).

Nathan Anderson of Oakland finished seventh at 148 (+4), while Jayson Brueggemann of Lincoln and Jeff Russell of Elkhorn tied for eighth at 149 (+5). Bennington's Steve Buroker rounded out the top 10 at 150 (+6).

Four Age Division Winners were also crowned, including Christiansen, who won the 50-57 Age Division. Haynes took the 58-64 Age Division, while Sajevic was the 65-71 Age Division Winner. Omaha's Steve Redlin won the 72+ Age Division at 151 (+7).

65-71 Age Division Winner | John Sajevic, Fremont

72+ Age Division Winner | Steve Redlin, Omaha

Final results and more are available at the championship website below.

Nebraska Senior Amateur Championship

About NebGolf
The Nebraska Golf Association (NebGolf), founded in 1966, is comprised of all members of public and private clubs and/or municipal or regional golf associations which utilize an approved handicap service recognized by the USGA and provided by NebGolf. Our mission is to uphold and promote the game of golf and its values to all golfers in Nebraska. Among the duties of the Association include governance of member clubs and service as their handicapping and course rating authority, conduct of state golf championships, local USGA qualifying & other notable competitions, promotion of junior golf, presentation of worthwhile educational programs and support of allied golf organizations in Nebraska. The Nebraska Golf Association is an Allied Golf Association of the USGA and carries out core services including Handicap Administration and Oversight, Course Rating, Rules of Golf and Rules of Amateur Status, Tournaments and USGA Championship Qualifiers and USGA Initiatives and Community Programs.

Comments are closed.