Nebraska Junior Match Play Championship



30th Nebraska Junior Match Play Championship

Awarii Dunes Golf Club, Axtell

June 17-20, 2019

Corporate Partners

Gutschewski Forces Extras, Wins Final in 20 Holes

Elkhorn's Luke Gutschewski forced extra holes with an eagle on the 18th hole and won in 20 holes to capture the 30th Nebraska Junior Match Play Championship at Awarii Dunes Golf Club in Axtell. Gutschewski defeated Josh Bartels of Lincoln, who had just birdied the 17th hole to take a 1 up lead. It's the first title for Gutschewski, who is the son of Korn Ferry Tour (Formerly Tour) pro Scott Gutschewski. Visit the Scoring tab above for the final bracket, and see the highlights, recap, interview and more below.


Enter This Championship Online

Entry Deadline: 5pm CDT on Monday, June 10, 2019


Entrant must be a male junior amateur golfer who is a resident of Nebraska and a member of Nebraska Junior Golf. A junior golfer is defined as an amateur golfer who has not yet reached the September 1 following graduation from secondary school.

Amateur Status: All players must conform to the USGA Rules of Amateur Status as specified in the USGA Rules of Golf.

Code of Conduct:

The NGA may reject an entry application, revoke an accepted application, expel from the Championship and/or suspend a player from future championships if the player engages in conduct detrimental to the integrity and image of the game of golf and/or public confidence in the NGA. Such conduct may include, but is not limited to, damage to the golf course or the player's equipment, verbal or physical abuse of spectators, officials, volunteers, or staff, blatant or excessive profanity, disorderly behavior, failure to abide by club rules, or any other unbecoming conduct.

Entry Fee

Entry fee of $50 must be paid by every player. Entry fee will be refunded regardless of reason if the NGA is notified (402-505-4653) before the close of entries. After the close of entries, fee will be refunded in the event of injury or illness, if requested no later than June 16. No refund for any reason after June 16. A $25 service charge will be deducted from all refunds.

Closing Date

Entries must be received by NGA no later than 5 p.m. C.D.T. on Monday, June 10, 2019. Late applications are not acceptable and will be automatically rejected. (Entries by telephone, e-mail, or FAX not acceptable.) Time limit for entries means time of receipt at NGA (not time entry is sent or transmitted to NGA). Entries should be submitted early to allow ample time for delay or error in transmission. The risk of delay or error in transmission lies solely with the entrant and the NGA will have no liability with respect to any such delay or error and the consequences therefrom, including rejection of the entry.



The championship field will be limited to 117 players. If more than 117 entries are received by the June 10, 2019 deadline, the field will be comprised of players that filed entries by the deadline in these categories:

1. Top 50 in the final 2018 NGA Junior Point Standings
2. Class winners of the 2019 NSAA High School Golf Championships
3. Two (2) host club selections
4. Remainder of the field determined by order of entry

List of Entries

Practice Rounds
Available at a time convenient to Awarii Dunes at a rate of $20 (walking). To make arrangements for practice rounds, please contact the Awarii Dunes golf shop at (308) 743-1111.

Championship Schedule
Monday, June 17 - Stroke Play Qualifying
7 a.m. - Practice Areas Open
7 - 10 a.m. - Player Registration
8 - 10 a.m. - Boys’ Starting Times (1 & 10 Tee)
11 a.m. - 3 p.m. - Player Registration
1 - 3 p.m. - Girls’ Starting Times (1 Tee)
1 - 3 p.m. - Boys’ Starting Times (10 Tee)

Tuesday, June 18
7 a.m. - Practice Areas Open
8 –9:50 a.m. - Round One Match Play (1 & 10 Tee)
1 –2:50 p.m. - Round Two Match Play (1 Tee)

Wednesday, June 19
7 a.m. - Practice Areas Open
8 - 8:30 a.m. - Boys Quarterfinals (1 Tee)
8:40 – 8:50 a.m. - Girls Semifinals (1 Tee)
1:00 — 1:10 a.m. - Boys Semifinals (1 Tee)
1:20 p.m. - Girls 18-Hole Final (1 Tee)
Following Golf - Girls' Awards Ceremony

Thursday, June 20
7 a.m. - Practice Areas Open
8 a.m. - Boys 18-Hole Final (1 Tee)
Following Golf - Boys' Awards Ceremony

The NGA has set up a rate for players at the Holiday Inn ($89.95 plus tax) and the Holiday Inn Express ($99.95 plus tax) in Kearney. Both hotels are less than 10 minutes from Awarii Dunes. Please call the numbers below and reference the Nebraska Junior Match Play to make reservations.

Holiday Inn – (308) 237-5971
Holiday Inn Express – (308) 234-8100

Awarii Dunes Golf Club

524 S Road
Axtell, NE 68924
Golf Shop Phone - (308) 743-1111
Website -

General Manager - Jeff Perdew

Director of Golf - Chad Lydiatt

Head Superintendent - Brad Childress

Course Yardage

2019Luke GutschewskiElkhornAwarii Dunes Golf Club, Axtell
2018Ryan RogersOmahaYork Country Club
2017Kellen RossmanNorfolkWild Horse Golf Club, Gothenburg
2016Alex SchaakeOmahaThe Pines Country Club, Valley
2015Nolan MaschkaOmahaKearney Country Club
2014Alex SchaakeOmahaHeritage Hills Golf Course, McCook
2013Carson SchaakeOmahaThe Country Club of Lincoln
2012Zach TaylorOmahaYork Country Club
2011Alex TotusekOmahaOakland Golf Club
2010John SpellerbergFremontFremont Golf Club
2009Andy SajevicFremontThe Pines Country Club, Valley
2008Josh ReinertsonGibbonWild Horse Golf Club, Gothenburg
2007Colin O'ConnorOmahaArborLinks, Nebraska City
2006Mike CoatmanLincolnWillow Lakes Golf Course, Bellevue
2005Mike CoatmanLincolnWayne Country Club
2004Joe KubickLincolnHeritage Hills Golf Course, McCook
2003Joe KubickLincolnFirethorn Golf Club, Lincoln
2002Trent PriceLincolnBeatrice Country Club
2001Brady BauerLincolnYankee Hill Country Club, Lincoln
2000Brady SchnellOmahaOak Hills Country Club, Omaha
1999Chris HartwigLincolnPlatteview Country Club, Bellevue
1998Tyler ChapmanYorkYork Country Club
1997Seth PorterHastingsBay Hills Golf Course, Plattsmouth
1996David HerschLincolnYork Country Club
1995Steve FriesenLincolnIndian Trails Country Club, Beemer
1994David HerschLincolnWayne Country Club
1993Ryan NietfeldtGrand IslandField Club of Omaha
1992Kit GroveLincolnMahoney Golf Course, Lincoln
1991Mark DahirOmahaPlatteview Country Club, Bellevue
1990Chad LydiattKearneyAshland Country Club

Nebraska Junior Match Play Championship Records 1990-2018


Most titles: 2, David Hersch (1994, 1996); Joe Kubick (2003, 2004); Mike Coatman (2005, 2006); Alex Schaake (2014, 2016)

Consecutive titles: 2, Joe Kubick, 2003 to 2004; Mike Coatman, 2005 to 2006

Longest Span, First to Last Victory: 2 years, David Hersch (1994-1996); Alex Schaake (2014-2016)

Longest Span Between Victories: 2 years, David Hersch (1994-1996); Alex Schaake (2014-2016)

Brother Champions: Carson Schaake (2013) and Alex Schaake (2014, 2016)


Most Times Host Site:

York Country Club 4
Heritage Hills Golf Course, McCook 2
Platteview Country Club, Bellevue 2
Wayne Country Club 2
The Pines Country Club 2
Wild Horse Golf Club 2

Match Play

Largest Winning Margin, 36-Hole Match (Final): 11 and 10, Trent Price defeated Lance Morrow, 2002 (Beatrice CC)

Most Consecutive Match Play Victories: 14, Mike Coatman, 2005 to 2007; 10, Joe Kubick, 2003 to 2004


Most Runner-Up Finishes: 

Mark Wright 2*
Eric Krzyzanowski 2*

*Never won

Most Times in Final:

Mike Coatman 3


social media hub