Easley, Wisdom Capture Third Title in Playoff

Easley, Wisdom Capture Third Title in Playoff

Final Round Conducted Sunday at Fremont Golf Club

FREMONT (September 27, 2020) - Lincoln's David Easley and Omaha's Joel Wisdom captured a third title, winning the 19th Nebraska Four-Ball Championship in a playoff at Fremont Golf Club on Sunday.

Easley and Wisdom followed their first round 64 (-7) with a final round 66 (-5) to finish at 130 (-12), tied with Gretna's Brian Csipkes and Bennington's William Amundsen.

A playoff ensued for the third straight year at the Nebraska Four-Ball, and Amundsen and Wisdom both made par on the first playoff hole, No. 1. The playoff went to No. 17 next, and all four players found the green, with Wisdom and Easley both closer than their competitors. Easley was the lone player to roll in his birdie putt, securing the record-tying third title.

Easley and Wisdom made a couple birdies on the front nine to turn in 33 (-2), with a few teams going low ahead of them. They made three more birdies on the back nine, with pars on the final three holes to finish at 12-under.

Csipkes and Amundsen made eight birdies during their round, including birdies on Nos. 17 and 18 by Csipkes to get to 12-under with their final round 65 (-6). They finished runner-up in a playoff for the second-straight year.

Papillon's Aaron Stockton and Beatrice's Jon Deines finished in a tie for third at 132 (-10) with Omaha's Eric Peel and Lincoln's Garrett Svoboda.

The round of the championship went to the Fremont natives, John and Andy Sajevic, who came within a stroke of the lowest round in Nebraska Four-Ball history. Andy birdied four of the last six holes to give his father-son team a round of 62 (-9). The Sajevics finished tied for fifth with John Engel of Omaha and Tad Leistico of Elkhorn. Leistico made three birdie-2s and they put together a round of 63 (-8). Jayson and Joel Brueggemann also finished at 133 (-9) after a final round 66 (-5).

Connor Niehaus of Omaha and Johnny Spellerberg of Bennington tied for eighth with Scotts Tridle and Trent Price of Lincoln at 134 (-8). Rounding out the Top 10, Lincoln's Jay Moore and Travis Minzel, Table Rock's Calvin Freeman and Bennington's Steve Buroker and Omaha's Dylan Heng and Norfolk's Lance Lawson all tied for 10th at 135 (-7).

The third title for Easley and Wisdom ties them with John Sajevic and Knox Jones for the most titles all-time. It also surpasses their own record with eight years between titles, and is 14 years after their first title in 2006.

Final Results and more are available on the championship website below.

Nebraska Four-Ball Championship

About the NGA
The Nebraska Golf Association, founded in 1966, is comprised of all members of public and private clubs and/or municipal or regional golf associations which utilize an approved handicap service recognized by the USGA and provided by the NGA. Our mission is to uphold and promote the game of golf and its values to all golfers in Nebraska. Among the duties of the Association include governance of member clubs and service as their handicapping and course rating authority, conduct of state golf championships, local USGA qualifying & other notable competitions, promotion of junior golf, presentation of worthwhile educational programs and support of allied golf organizations in Nebraska. The Nebraska Golf Association is an Allied Golf Association of the USGA and carries out core services including Handicap Administration and Oversight, Course Rating, Rules of Golf and Rules of Amateur Status, Tournaments and USGA Championship Qualifiers and USGA Initiatives and Community Programs.

Comments are closed.