Wayne State, Southeast Lead at Nebraska Intercollegiate

Wayne State, Southeast Lead at Nebraska Intercollegiate

Round One Conducted Friday at Norfolk Country Club

NORFOLK (September 30, 2022) - The first round of the 2022 Nebraska Intercollegiate was conducted on Friday at Norfolk Country Club, and Wayne State College leads in search of a second-straight title in the women's division, while Southeast Community College holds the lead in the men's race.

Wayne State had three of the top four individual scores during the first round, and leads by 30 strokes with a 323 (+35) total. The Wildcats also held a sizable lead last year after the first round, and went on to win the inaugural Nebraska Intercollegiate women's title.

Junior Abbey Kurmel led the way for Wayne State, firing the low round of the day on the women's side, a 77 (+5). She leads the individual race by one stroke over teammate Abby Brodersen, a sophomore from close-by Albion. Brodersen was the only other player to break 80, posting a 78 (+6). Kurmel finished runner-up last year, and Brodersen was just behind her in third.

Jazmine Taylor, a Wayne State sophomore and the defending champion, finished a few strokes behind her teammates at 81 (+9). Taylor is tied for third with Megan Harty, who is playing as an individual for Bellevue University. Another Bellevue University individual, Maria Pinedo, is in fifth at 82 (+10).

The University of Nebraska-Kearney is second in the team race, at 353 (+65), while Hastings College is third at 362 (+74).

On the men's side, Southeast Community College leads by six strokes with a 299 (+11) total. Four Storm players are inside the top 10 after the first round, led by Freshmen Harrison Foxall and Ethan Spier, who are tied for third at 74 (+2). Brock Rowley, a freshman from Lincoln, is tied for sixth after a 75 (+3), while freshman Cole Feddersen of Kearney contributed a 76 (+4) and is tied for eighth.

Doane University's Achilleas Lazaridis and Hastings College's Gabe Escalera are tied for the men's individual lead. Both players recorded rounds of 73 (+1). Concordia's Drew D'Ercole is tied for third at 74 (+2) along with Foxall and Spier. Doane's Ryan Weiss is tied for sixth with Rowley at 75 (+3).

Ivan Yabut of Concordia University, Ben Ngelingkong of Midland University and Blake Barner of Central Community College all shot 76 (+4), and are tied for eighth with Feddersen to round out the Top 10.

Concordia is second in the team race, six strokes back of Southeast at 305 (+17), while Midland is third at 310 (+22).

The final round begins with a 10 a.m. shotgun start. Pairings for the final round are available on the NGA website below, along with the scoring page and additional information.

Nebraska Intercollegiate

About the NGA
The Nebraska Golf Association, founded in 1966, is comprised of all members of public and private clubs and/or municipal or regional golf associations which utilize an approved handicap service recognized by the USGA and provided by the NGA. Our mission is to uphold and promote the game of golf and its values to all golfers in Nebraska. Among the duties of the Association include governance of member clubs and service as their handicapping and course rating authority, conduct of state golf championships, local USGA qualifying & other notable competitions, promotion of junior golf, presentation of worthwhile educational programs and support of allied golf organizations in Nebraska. The Nebraska Golf Association is an Allied Golf Association of the USGA and carries out core services including Handicap Administration and Oversight, Course Rating, Rules of Golf and Rules of Amateur Status, Tournaments and USGA Championship Qualifiers and USGA Initiatives and Community Programs.

Comments are closed.