Team Nebraska Set for 2023 Director’s Cup

Team Nebraska Set for 2023 Director's Cup

OMAHA (September 13, 2023) – The 12th Director’s Cup Matches are set for next week at Firekeeper Golf Course in Mayetta, Kansas and six players have been named to Team Nebraska.

The biennial event, scheduled for September 18-19, pits top amateur golfers from Nebraska, Kansas, Iowa and Missouri in a team Match Play format. This goodwill competition is staged every other year and consists of round-robin Four-Ball, Foursomes and Singles matches. Teams now consist of six players each.

The selection of the six-man Nebraska Director's Cup team is based upon the final Director’s Cup Team Standings. The Director’s Cup Team Standings are determined by combining a player’s previous year’s point total with his current year's points (through August 20) multiplied by 1.5. Those golfers ranked in the top four of the Director’s Cup Standings qualify for the team. The Nebraska Golf Association Board of Directors has granted the NebGolf Tournament Committee the right to select the remainder of the team, including replacements for qualifiers. The Nebraska team is listed below.

Alex Farrell, Elkhorn
Vance Janssen, Omaha
Ryan Nietfeldt, Elkhorn
Matt Quandt, Omaha
Johnny Spellerberg, Bennington
Danny Woodhead, Elkhorn.

Nebraska's squad includes two NebGolf champions, including the hottest player in the state, Bennington's Johnny Spellerberg, who is coming off his third-straight Nebraska Mid-Amateur title. Spellerberg is on the team for a second time. Elkhorn's Ryan Nietfeldt, a three-time Nebraska Mid-Amateur Champion himself, and a 10-time NebGolf Champion, is back on the squad for a seventh-straight selection, and an eighth overall. Omaha's Matthew Quandt and Vance Janssen, and Elkhorn's Alex Farrell and Danny Woodhead are all first-time selections.

The competition begins Monday with morning Four-Ball matches, followed by afternoon Foursome Matches. Singles Matches on Tuesday conclude the event, with the team with the most points claiming the Cup. A practice round on Sunday, precedes the event.

Nebraska holds the Cup after winning the 2021 Director’s Cup Matches at Dismal River Club in Mullen. Nebraska also leads the overall series, having won five times, while Iowa is second with three wins, Kansas has won twice, and Missouri once.

For more information on the Director’s Cup, visit the website at the button below.

Director's Cup

About NebGolf
The Nebraska Golf Association (NebGolf), founded in 1966, is comprised of all members of public and private clubs and/or municipal or regional golf associations which utilize an approved handicap service recognized by the USGA and provided by NebGolf. Our mission is to uphold and promote the game of golf and its values to all golfers in Nebraska. Among the duties of the Association include governance of member clubs and service as their handicapping and course rating authority, conduct of state golf championships, local USGA qualifying & other notable competitions, promotion of junior golf, presentation of worthwhile educational programs and support of allied golf organizations in Nebraska. The Nebraska Golf Association is an Allied Golf Association of the USGA and carries out core services including Handicap Administration and Oversight, Course Rating, Rules of Golf and Rules of Amateur Status, Tournaments and USGA Championship Qualifiers and USGA Initiatives and Community Programs.

Comments are closed.